SadhanaOriental Meditation and Christian Prayer

Prayer with fantasy

18Contemplating on a scene in the Bible led by St. Ignatius: 4 (Resurrection)

このページのコンテンツには、Adobe Flash Player の最新バージョンが必要です。

Adobe Flash Player を取得

 The following is the excerpts of #218 – 225 in The Spiritual Exercises as translated by David Fleming.
 ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
【Preparatory Prayer】
 The usual Preparatory Prayer.

【First Prelude】
 The first Prelude is the narrative, which is here how, after Christ expired on the Cross, and the Body, always united with the Divinity. remained separated from the Soul, the blessed Soul, likewise united with the Divinity, went down to Hell, and taking from there the just souls, and coming to the Sepulchre and being risen, He appeared to His Blessed Mother in Body and in Soul.

【Second Prelude】
 The second, a composition, seeing the place; which will be here to see the arrangement of the Holy Sepulchre and the place or house of Our Lady, looking at its parts in particular; likewise the room, the oratory, etc.

【Third Prelude】
 The third, to ask for what I want, and it will be here to ask for grace to rejoice and be glad intensely at so great glory and joy of Christ our Lord.

【First Point】
(Observe people.  Then observe myself and try to learn something from it.)

【Second Point】
(Listen to what they say, and learn something from it as before.)

【Third Point】
(Watch what they do, and learn something from it.)

【Fourth Point】
 The fourth, to consider how the Divinity, which seemed to hide Itself in the Passion, now appears and shows Itself so marvelously in the most holy Resurrection by Its true and most holy effects.

【Fifth Point】
 The fifth is to consider the office of consoling which Christ our Lord bears, and to compare how friends are accustomed to console friends.

 I will finish with a Colloquy, or Colloquies, according to the subject matter, and an Our Father.

※ In the program, contemplation using internal five senses follows the above procedure.  After repeating contemplation on this scene, we contemplate using five senses, as described in the incarnation and nativity sections.



[Return to index]